Why they think I left…

I’ve had a few Christians made assumptions about why they think I left the Church and then ultimately, Christianity. A lot of those assumptions have to do with some experiences I had before I left the church. Some even had to do with at least one person assuming I left because I attending some personal growth workshops. But this blog post focuses on why I left the Seventh-day Adventist Church.

When I sent a letter to the church that held my membership I received a letter after a few months stating that my name had been removed. I was surprised to see that they made some assumptions about why I left. Here is what the letter said.

Dear ——-

I wanted to write you and let you know that your request regarding your membership here at XYZ Church and in the Seventh-day Adventist Church was considered last evening at our congregational business meeting. You’ve been through so much of late – the death of your beloved mother, your mission service in Korea, your move from this community. And I know that Jesus’ Spirit has been especially close to you through it all. But it’s been a painful time for you, and I am sorry.

Please know that while we regretfully voted to accept your wishes to have your membership dropped, we in no way by that action are closing the doors to our hearts and our church to you for one moment. We wish there was a way to bring healing to your pain – and we are earnestly praying that Jesus’ grace and peace and courage will fill your heart during this difficult time. 

One thing you and I both know – and that is that our Savior is soon to return to this earth. And so I’m praying that you will be drawn closer and closer to him. He still has a dream for your life and ministry. You are gifted – and there is a place where your gifts are especially needed. If there is anything I or any of us here in your home congregation can do for you in the next chapter of your journey, please dash me an email or pick up the phone and call.

In Christ’s love –

XXXX

I find it interesting that at least one person there assumed that I left because of the experiences I had. I’m sure the experiences I had may have sped the process along, but they were not the cause of me leaving.

Before sending the letter in to the church asking for my name to be removed I wanted to make sure I wasn’t doing it out of bitterness. I didn’t want to be like a little kid who was angry and took their ball and went home. Finally I realized that the church wasn’t for me anymore. The beliefs were not in line with what I believed. In the end my choice to leave was based on being in integrity with myself. I was no longer living as a Seventh-day Adventist. I didn’t believe a large portion of the beliefs anymore. To stay only left me out of integrity. My integrity is one of the keys to my happiness and success in life.

About flower

Originally from Michigan. Live in the Los Angeles area now. Love it. I also love animals. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why they think I left…

  1. It seems to me this is a common pattern. believers often seem to assume it’s a trauma that leads folks to leave the faith. In my experience, it rarely is.

Leave a Reply

