My interview on Everyone’s Agnostic Podcast

I was honored to be interviewed on the podcast Everyone’s Agnostic. It was really great to talk to Bob and Cass about myself. πŸ˜€ It almost sounds prideful, but hey, pride isn’t a bad thing anymore. πŸ™‚

I was glad to talk to them about my own story leaving the Seventh-day Adventist Church and also my volunteer work with Recovering from Religion. I had a friend, who is also a former SDA, say that he was surprised that I stayed in Adventism as long as I did because I wasn’t raised in a very religious home growing up. He said he felt a bit jealous and wished he had a family who half assed their faith.

I have often wondered what my faith would have been like if I’d been raised in a home where religion was central to family life. It seemed like I was drawn to the strictness of Adventism, especially when I attended one of their universities. I loved the structure of life in the dorm at the Adventist university I went to. (I think I have a thing about following rules and structure. They make me happy. πŸ™‚ )

So, I shared the podcast with the other volunteers at RfR and one of the other volunteers asked me why I hadn’t emphasized volunteering more in the podcast. They said they always make it a priority to make sure people know about how to volunteer and blah blah blah. This person was quite the ass. I am not an employee of RfR. I am not under contract with them whatsoever. There is no requirement to share squat about RfR and if I were to share about RfR I don’t need to do or say anything in particular. This jackass took a great experience and just stomped on it. “Oh, that’s great, but why the fuck didn’t you do this?” I have to wonder what people like this person have against other people’s happiness. I really think this idiots “feedback” was one of the things that triggered my recent spiral towards depression.

The one thing I can take from this experience is to not be such a judgemental asshole to people. Especially when it’s something that doesn’t deserve negative feedback. The toilet paper stand is not in the place I think it should be. I shouldn’t belittle people because of it.

I am thinking of letting Wendy Marsman over at Women Beyond Belief podcast know that I am available to share my story. And you know what, I’ll actually leave my volunteer work with RfR out of it completely. I want to share my story.

So here’s the link to my Everyone’s Agnostic interview. I don’t go out of my way to advertise who I am on this blog, but with the title of the podcast, you’ll be able to figure out who I am. πŸ™‚

http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/everyones-agnostic-2/everyones-agnostic/e/episode-146-colleen-jousma-49853625

About flower

Originally from Michigan. Live in the Los Angeles area now. Love it. I also love animals. :)
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

